La vida de Annie

By Annie

Refrigerador.

Lockdown day 26.
The fridge has never been this well-stocked before. I'll be the size of a house when this is all over. Extra - some of my collection of magnets on the front.
Took Maxie out for a shuffle round the streets this morning (she does about a quarter of a mile an hour usually). Going past my old gaff I happened to see H, one of my ex-neighbours, on her balcony. It seems they came out the day before lockdown, not being aware that anything was going to happen, and are now stuck here, though quite content to be. They are retired and have someone to look after their place in the UK, like a quiet life and find it peaceful here (more so than usual). While I was talking to her from the road (about 5 metres away), a car pulled up, an unmarked black car with two guardias civiles on board. The younger one barked some Catalan at me (always reminds me of a cat dealing with fur balls), which obviously left me nonplussed as the other guy got out, asked me if I was English and said I couldn't be there. I said I was walking the dog (Maxie was asleep in the shade of the wall and had been for about 20 minutes while I was gabbing). He said you can walk the dog but not stop in the street to talk. They probably hadn't found anyone to tell off that day so I was an easy target. Shame they didn't nab the group of people partying on a boat in the marina, or the men fishing at the point, or the guy jogging along the coastal path with a hacking cough, or the dreadlocked guy smoking a joint.... Still, I now know that you can't chat to someone from 5 metres away outside, without risking being told off by police from close quarters and not wearing masks. I think they posed a bigger threat today than I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.