LD 18 Delivery run

I spent a couple of hours this afternoon helping Cathleen deliver dispensed prescriptions from the Tighnabruaich surgery which is  asking volunteers to assist during the current pandemic.

I have to say that even I , who drives the length and breadth of Argyll on a regular basis, didn't quite realise the mileage and time that is required  for the simple act of dropping off 8 essential medical  packages in Glendaruel. 

It took us two hours to drive to the surgery, pick the box up and then get them to where they needed to be. In total the journey was 38 miles and I can confirm we got given masks, observed social distancing the whole time and washed our hands before and after, and very thoroughly.

Doing house calls,  as doctors and district nurses will do, would need I am sure much more - a full day  at least to cover just this wee bit of  Cowal , and strong axles as we discovered on one hill track.   Hats off to them - and lots of claps next week. 

But the trip  did allow me to see bits of the Glen I hadn't been in for ages, including this bridge at the start of the road to Otter Ferry, which is the steepest adopted road in these islands, apparently. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.