Today's Special

By Connections

Wake Robin

That's the common name for this Western White Trillium plant, native to several western states, including ours. Its pretty white blossoms are a delight in early spring, when little else is in flower.

Perhaps "Wake Robin" became its common name because we start seeing robins in our garden at about the same time that our trilliums bloom! There was a cheery American Robin (Turdus migratorius) near these blooms, but s/he quickly flew off before I could take a photo.

I successfully "took" an exercise class at our local Y today through Zoom, a major milestone for this Luddite! The extra photo is me taking a photo of the teacher as she greets everyone participating.. and a self portrait as well, as I put my little iPad on the fireplace mantel, above which hangs a mirror. That's enough high tech in one day for me!

(Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday!)

Blip 2071

[COVID-19 statistics for Whatcom County today: 250 confirmed cases and 23 deaths.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.