Lent 2020 day 46

My little love! Happy 4th birthday! Doesn’t seem 4 years ago that you were wrapped in a blanket lying in Good Hope! Little did we know what a force had been born (although I had an inkling from the way you latched on) - here’s praying you use that force for good and for justice to make this world a brighter place, like you’ve done to our household! And most of all that your hope would always be the one mentioned in my lent verse for today.
.
(If you want to join me in celebrating this hope I will be hosting an Easter livestream, together with Donald, tomorrow at 8:30am, 10:30am and 6:30pm - just pop along to scbc.org.uk for the link to join in at any of those times on Easter Sunday - be great to be together “virtually”!).
.
Lent 2020 day 46: ‘Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I shall not be shaken.’ (Psalm 62:5-6)

Nigel Harris (CEO of Tearfund) writes:
.
“At Tearfund, we strive to be an organisation that is fuelled by hope. Not a hope of wishful thinking or false optimism, but one that is grounded in the certainty of God’s goodness. Read this prayer by Rachael Adams and open yourself to the God of hope.

I come to you God and I place before you my dreams,
My hurts and fears, my failures and my doubts,
I lay them down at your feet, where I know they are held.
It may look foolish to the world, it may not make much sense,
But I know the bigger story, I know what’s to come.
In this world of fear, I choose hope,
In this world of anger, I choose forgiveness,
In this world of exclusion, I choose love,
In this world of distraction, I choose you.
Remind me of your truth Lord, especially in the waiting,
When times are hard and I’m struggling to hear your voice.
Fill me afresh with your presence, remind me of your great plan,
And let the truth sink in that I need only you.
Amen.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.