Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Is this the Pond you are looking for?

When I was a wee girl, my Dad took me for a walk around a pond, feeding the ducks. Nothing out of this world. Just a simple wander, the two of us.

Yet I remember it so vividly for some reason - not all of it, just a point in time - I have part of the pathway and trees imprinted on my eyelids when I close them. I can see acorn cups on the ground. I can even smell it if I focus hard enough. I can feel him holding my hand.

Problem is, so many years later, I can't remember where it is - I know it must be in Edinburgh, as we were probably stopping off on one of the days when I used to go with him to his second "day" job, collecting payments for Rediffusion TV hires (yes, it was that long ago!).

So for the past year or so, we've been on a wee mini-mission, touring round various ponds and parks, to see if we can find it - to jog my memory.

Last night I dreamt about him, about not being able to get to him any more - I have these often - so I woke up sad, and feeling the loss of connection so strongly. That was why we decided to try the next pond on the list, to see if it was the one.

And do you know, I think it was... It all felt right and matched my memory closely. One or two changes - the notice said it has had some work done in the intervening years - but almost bang on, despite the different season.

Amazing, the moments and memories that linger, that remain... x


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.