January's Full Wolf Moon

The snow started in the early afternoon on Friday and continued until about noon on Saturday. It left us with four to five inches of sparkling, soft, lightweight flakes.

On Friday night, I saw the full moon rise through the snowstorm. Lucky me: my soundtrack for moon watching was the soft whisper of gently falling flakes.

It was the only time in my life that I got to photograph snowflakes against the almost full moon. But I didn't download those pictures until late Saturday, well after I posted Friday's blip.

My only trips outdoors on Saturday were to help my husband shovel the drive and deck, and to photograph January's stunning full wolf moon.

The Farmer's Almanac tells us the January moon got this name from the packs of wolves howling around the Indian villages at this time of year.

On this night, I did not hear any wolves howling; in fact, the last wolves were gone from these parts many, many moons ago.

But I did see the moon playing peekaboo with the clouds, and the cold white light shining on the new, sparkling snows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.