Happy Easter everyone

Well, this was a much better day.
 
First, a big thank you to those who have asked and sent good wishes regarding my uncle and aunt. I really appreciate it – and it is heartwarming to have people sending good wishes across the miles. Something has been working, because my aunt was released from hospital today and is now at home wondering aloud how my uncle could have made so much mess in the house in the space of a week. She is tired and still far from well, but compared to where she was a week ago… no comparison. He, however, is still a little way behind in terms of disease progression. Wait and see, I suppose.
 
Second, I probably need to reassure those who have called, emailed and commented that while I am not usually overt about being this much of a basket case, this is pretty much normal. I like to look at the darker side of my thoughts when I write – and while I see this blog as a journal and usually write it as such, it is also, to a huge extent, cathartic. I am quite possibly overwrought and under-intelligent and definitely self-absorbed, but I am coming through this reasonably well and, as I hope I have shown, have the world’s best wife and son. Just don’t tell them that.
 
Finally, before I wander off into the realms of fantasy that I call truth, I am also reasonably happy that Boris Johnson pulled through and managed to thank a Portuguese and a Kiwi for standing by him in his hours of need. May that lift the endless layers of bullshit from his mind and his speech.
 
Today’s highlights (see, I can do it):
·        A two-hour nap with Ottawacker Jr. Although he had the nap, as we were sitting on an armchair together, and I had the cramp in my arm and leg. It was the first time in about a year that he had deigned to nap with me (and as I only nap with either him or Mrs. Ottawacker…)
·        Two separate goalkeeping training sessions with the aforementioned small person. The grass in the back garden may now resemble a Beirut bomb site and the back deck may be more decomposing leaves and mud than floor, but it was fun.
·        A good friend of mine told me he had a potentially positive outcome from serious cancer surgery.
·        I cooked the world’s best brunch; I mean, seriously.
·        There’s increasing evidence that our two cats may actually tolerate each other.
 
So happy Easter everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.