Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Still Standing. Easter 2020

I believe that this is the picture that I will remember from this coronavirus disaster. In any other year, our town would be teeming with tourists and pilgrims (our church is the oldest Marian sanctuary on Brazilian soil). To see our church closed, especially these days, hurts. On the other hand, I will (probably) never again get a chance to photograph our little town without someone constantly walking into the frame. I love this image. I love how Christ stands unshakable, his arms wide open, blessing our hard hit community (not by sickness, but by the absence of the tourists that are so vital for the survival of many in our town), and how the sunlight brightened up parts of the sky. Soon after I took this picture, it began to rain.

Definitely better if viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.