The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Sunday 12th April 2020)

Living on the edge of a town and on a main road there are only a couple of hour long circular walks available on foot from home. One involves walking down to the disused canal walk that leads by a less direct route into town and that's the one I took in the late afternoon, and found surprisingly quiet.

I knew there were ducklings around at different stretches of the Marden river and I found these on the short watered stretch of the Wilts and Berks canal within Castlefields Park. The ducklings were sunbathing as I approached but gathered underneath mum for safety. I stayed a distance away so the mallard didn't need to take the ducklings into the water, so this is the best shot I got.

The extra shows Chaveywell Bridge as seen looking east from the path inside the nature reserve.

I saw a view expressed online yesterday that cameras should be left at home on permitted walks as the purpose was to exercise. I can imagine how popular such an opinion would be with Blippers. I can only suppose that the writer had in mind staying put with a tripod or in a hide instead of pausing briefly to take a snap or two whilst walking.

Today marks the first full month since I have spoken to any friends, neighbours or family face to face.

L.
13.4.2020 (1114 hr)

Sharper in Large (Gallery) view


Blip #3190 (#2940 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #020
Blips/Extras In 2020 #41/265 + #026/100 Extras
Day #3670 (835 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2319 (#2160 + 159 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-x (White) and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens with 1.4 x tele-converter

Calne series
Ducks series
Canals series
Wilts and Berks Canal series


Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Laura Marling - Song For Our Daughter (2020)
Continuing the mother and child theme

One Year Ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.