Day 104/20. My Tower of London Poppy facelift

I am lucky enough to have one of the Tower of London Poppies.
In 2014 the Tower of London marked the centenary of the outbreak of The First World War (WWI) with the commemorative art installation Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red, which saw the moat filled with thousands of ceramic poppies. These were then sold to individuals for charity.
I usually remove mine from its winter storage and place it in a flower bed on the solstice. This year, in Coronavrius isolation, I decided to give it a 6 year facelift. I gave it a fresh coat of enamel paint (I found the correct shade of red), and a new rubber centre (painted black).
The extra image today shows the refurbishment underway.
I take good care of my Poppy. It will remain in the summer sun to 11 November, Armistice Day, when it will be brought inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.