Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

No Oil Painting!

I’m sure many of you will have seen that over the last few weeks some people have been making their own entertainment by re-staging notable artworks and posting the results on social media.

My friend Carol suggested I should sign up to the ‘Recreate Artworks With Things You Find at Home’ page on Facebook, and this morning I had a bash at recreating ‘Peter (A Young English Girl)’ by Romaine Brooks. This oil painting is a portrait of the British painter Hannah Gluckstein (known as Gluck) and was painted in 1923-24. You can see the original portrait at https://americanart.si.edu/artwork/peter-young-english-girl-2909 should you wish to ‘compare and contrast’!

I had a lot of fun creating this homage to the painting although, in retrospect, I think I could’ve done better! Anyway, I may yet have a go at doing some more tributes over the next few weeks. You have been warned!

Today’s tune is ‘iT’ by Christine and the Queens https://youtube.com/watch?v=i9XeN3MSbyk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.