Essential Workers?

Essential workers? Well something that I didn't mention yet but I am pretty sure many of you know - When your at work, there is no legal social distancing when the job has to be done. Most people understand the doctors, nurses, police and fire departments - need close contact especially as they try and save lives... This is the reason personal protection equipment is so important. Well those at grocery stores that stand 2 feet away or less at the counter, the fuel stop where you have to use a dirty keypad or hand over cash within 3 feet or less or...  also deemed as essential don't have to wear personal protection equipment (as their isn't enough to go around anyways) but using masks and gloves - still takes away from the first responders.

I mention the as the company I work for has gotten masks for all 20,000 drivers (Not the N95), gloves and hand sanitizer too. I feel these should be going to the first responders - so they have something but then again, don't I have the right as being an essential employee to protect myself too? The next two days while unloading the trailer, I will be in close contact with other people that may or may not have masks or gloves to wear. Think downstacking 200 pound ranges by hand...  

Even after reading what I just wrote I am in awe at the need for so much protective gear in so many industries that I now fully understand the shortage. Please if you can stay home, stay safe and not use them.. please do... Sleeping in the truck tomorrow... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.