HareBrain

By HareBrain

Little bird garden watch

I did what the RSPB asked of us and counted the SMALL birds in our garden for an hour this morning. I must have picked the wrong hour as I only saw:

10 Sparrows
3 Blue tits (two of whom were busy investigating one of the nesting boxes we lovingly provide for them) one of them above
4 male blackbirds
2 female blackbirds
2 wood pigeons
1 magpie
1 wren and
2 starlings.

Our Crow/Rook family wandered by too late and the huge family of sparrows who live in our long hedge did not come out to play but stayed firmly put and just chirruped loudly. It has been very windy so perhaps that's why the hour was quieter than usual. I was thrilled to see the Wren though.

And then we went 'HUGE bird spotting' on the Runway Viewing Area at Manchester Airport ..... I would very much like you to believe that it is not as bad as it sounds .... but actually it is because I have to say I love it. (occasionally!!) I like to imagine I'm just off on my travels to warmer and exciting places, or wandering where the passengers in all the planes have come from or are going to and also to be rubbing shoulders with the professional HUGE lens brigade who apparently go there every Sunday to collect plane registration numbers; they don't know much about the planes, but alot more about taking photographs than I do. Mr T felt the need of sight of a bit of real aviation and I enjoyed taking lots and lots of shots with new camera and picked up quite a few tips from the professionals!

PS. This is not the new camera - still practising.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.