A BUTTON

MaryElizaR has set the challenge for Tiny Tuesday - A Button.
Thank you for hosting the challenge this month.

My mother was a terrific seamstress, her mother was too and so too her sister.  Grandma sewed with a manual sewing machine, it use to fascinate me, and did so into her 90s.  In my mother's button tin were a couple of brown, cut glass buttons.  So different to the buttons available these days although shell buttons are beautiful too.  
Anyhow, I asked MrD if he would hold one up to the light this afternoon and low and behold there is more in that button than I had envisaged - beautiful patterns and the bar, at the back, to attach the button to the garment reminds me of a wine glass giving away my thoughts.
I would think the button is from the 1940s or 1950s - whatever, it's jolly old and to me, beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.