Tuesday's painting...

... My daily painting challenge for today

It is a digital painting of a pottery vase which holds peacock feathers. But I didn't do the peacock feathers coming out of her head....

It is a white clay vase, but I wanted a gold leaf effect. I sort of have it created here between 3 different painting apps.

it took a couple of hours.

This painting is my escapism to another world. I sort of disappear...

Popeye seems to be doing okay. His abscess is improving. We are both in the potting shed at the moment. But to make it safe for both of us, because the feral cats even came in here when I was sitting in here. Popeye had been asleep under the blanket on my lap or else a battle would have taken place, I had to put trellis work across the window, and some split cane screening in front of the door. It does make it into a bit of a prison but it keeps us both safe. See first extra.

I am unable to sit on my thatched swing in the early morning sun because of the feral cats coming through the garden. I feel trapped in more ways than one.

I have been growing my own veg from shop bought veg. Enclosed in second extra is an indication of this. This is on my kitchen window ledge.   I cut the base of the spring onions and put them in water and you can see how much they have grown, and this is 4 to 5 days growth. The three gem lettuces at the right are sprouting new leaves and this is 3 days growth. The carrot tops with the sprouting leaves is two days growth. The celery is maybe a weeks growth, and it needs eating now before it gets woody.

I am just interested in salad leaves mostly, not growing full vegetables. 

I did try another venture in all this, this morning...the third extra. It was meant to go in the front room on the window ledge, but I ended up in a muddy mess, because I had to mix the soil with water to stay in the holes. The first pic is the item bought from Ikea over two decades ago, it was a plastic container to hold plastic bags. I did give them away, but I got given them back...I thought it would be ideal to grow onions in a tower (I only want the greenery coming out of the tops). The theory was it would save space...but it ended up very messy. Some of the holes didn't have enough space at the back for an onion, so I put garlic in them. You can see it already growing. Anyway, it was messy, and so ended up outside my kitchen door tied back with cable ties to keep it upright.



I don't mind the lockdown at all. I am quite happy with my own company and my paintings. But for the feral cats to prevent me being out in the sun with Popeye, I do object to this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.