Tureen

I decided to clean the rest of the dining room and do it properly. That meant moving things that don't usually get moved and I came across this piece. I must have acquired it somehow and it has been sitting around for a long time. I have never used it, but I seem to think my mother used it, possibly at Christmas - it is some kind of lidded tureen or serving dish, maybe for vegetables, as it is not very big.

I have always liked it, but have never really looked at it before. Underneath there are some markings (see extra) and from these I was able to find out that it was made in Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent between 1883 and 1891, as it has the makers initials - TG & FB Thomas Gimbert and Fred Booth - partners and brothers in the Potteries. They were earthenware and ironstone manufacturers. This piece is made from a type of stone china clay that they named Parisian Granite. The name of the pattern is Acathia, and it seems to be a rare pattern - I could only find one example on the web. 

I think it must have come from my mother's family and the fact that her father, my grandfather, came from a Potteries family may not just be coincidence. I need to look up my family research and see how the dates tally. 

The spoons saga 
I think I have taken every suggestion on board. I had another look and decided which of all the cutlery I really liked and have put the rest away ready to give away to someone or somewhere. I amazingly found some silver cleaner and decided to have a go at cleaning the ones I have chosen to keep. Sitting outside in the sunshine, polishing the silver felt a bit surreal. They need a much more thorough clean, but the extra picture gives an idea of how good they look. They will be put away and used. Although whether I will find a use for two sugar tongs I'm not sure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.