The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Remembrance

There was no blip yesterday ...

Yesterday was a black day....

You see the figures ... 717 yesterday ... 778 today ..

Somehow you become numb to them. They are people with underlying causes .. does that mean they matter less?

That’s 778 mortal engines that spluttered to a halt. Humans. People. A brother. A sister. A mum. A dad. Family.

There are thousands in mourning, with no body to grieve over due to the horror we are living through. Not just numbers. Life.

Death crept closer yesterday.

The first person I knew died of Covid-19.

This entry is dedicated to one of those numbers. His name was Anthony Norton. He was a brother and a husband and a son. He was not a number.


“There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb”

Pink Floyd - 1979

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.