LD 22 What was I doing....

...40 years ago tonight at the end of the first day of the very first Celtic Media Festival  which I had invented, programmed, organised and  toured the Celtic nations promoting whilst running the Cinema Sgire project in the Western Isles. 

I suspect I was in the Creagorry Hotel on Benbecula,  a little amazed still that it had all happened,  and  having a drink with some of the delegates before heading out to a screening , probably with Cathleen to whom I had been married for all of a fortnight.

Anyway I  am absolutely sure that  I didn't expect forty years later to the day to be locked down during a pandemic nor to be an MSP (because there wasn't a Scottish Parliament then - in fact it was still almost 20 years away) nor  sitting as I was tonight looking down at silvery Loch Riddon in the last of the sunshine and reflecting on that event and everything that has flowed from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.