Here and Now

By Mole

"Farewell Bonnie Prince"

"But let us say jusqu'à ce qu'on se revoie dear Flora...I hope with all my heart to be reunited soon"

A piece of history heretofore unknown was that Flora packed a tin of shortbread for Bonnie Prince Charles for his journey to France.  In the shortbread, she hid dozens of embellished buttons as a sign of her love in the hopes he would return safely to marry her.  Alas!  The end of the tale was not happy...the rest of the story.


Thank you Mary for this most interesting challenge!  The challenge blips (and others) I've seen today are amazing.  In looking through my button box (shown above) I am amazed at how many buttons I've collected over the years, and how tastes and styles have changed!  I separated my buttons by type and color in ziplock bags and have kept them in this tin for decades.  I also have a canister full of my grandmother's buttons - don't ask me why - I don't know.  Hers are mostly white or light colors, many still have thread in them.  They are much smaller. 

Now that I've spent way too long on this challenge shot, does anybody know what time it is?  Does anybody really care?

Thanks for your comments and visits.  Hope you're all doing well.  It's snowing again here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.