BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 24

Imprisonment - Day twenty four
Tuesday 14th April 2020


Cycling Statistics 
Cars - 30
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 0
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 1.0c


It was a jolly chilly cycle ride this morning with the temperature just above freezing although I did not see any frost even in low lying areas but I did see Double Dog. 


I managed to spray the etching undercoat to the bonnet skuttle and front and rear nearside doors before I ran out of paint. I then noticed that the etching undercoat around the bonnet clips had reacted with the original paint causing it to streak making a pretty pattern but not at all what I wanted. It appears that one of the previous owners had repaired the bonnet area where the clips are located and painted the surrounding area with an oil based paint which of course reacts with the cellulose. Annoyingly I had to stipple the surrounding are with Niromors paint stripper to remove the offending paint rub it down and repaint. Still it's all done and just needs some tidy up filler which I have started to do on the mudguard I painted yesterday. Masking off the areas to paint eats  up time but has to be done. I'm going to have to mask off four times once for the etching undercoat then the high build undercoat the top coat and finally the clear laquer coat. I'll be pretty good at masking off before too long.


In the evening we held our monthly Austin Ten Drivers Club meeting on Skype. There were five of us on board and it was a hoot with two Anthony's two Ian's and a Roger. All a bit confusing. Much to everyone's amusement Roger finally got his ancient Ipad up and running so he could join the conversation. In the end we all chatted for a good two hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.