Imagine the view....

By btc

Wren's London: Temple Church...

...one of Wren's churches and remains in the original design as despite a bombing destroying most of the church in the high of the blitz in 1941, Wren's design was held in the Bowes Museum in County Durham so the architect could rebuild to its original specification.

Temple church lies just behind Fleet St, near where the original Temple Bar was sited and built for and by the Knights Templar as their English headquarters and 9 marbles effigies of medieval knights lay within the church.

The church building comprises two separate sections. The original nave section, called the Round Church, and an adjoining rectangular section, built approximately half a century later, called the Chancel.

The church was undamaged by the Great Fire of London in 1666. Nevertheless, it was refurbished by Wren who made extensive modifications to the interior, including an altar screen and the introduction of an organ to the church for the first time (why not, he was building everything else at the time, he probably had some spare paint and MDF).

As the church is under the jurisdiction of the crown and not the bishop of London the choristers have the privilege of wearing scarlet cassocks as a result (I know a certain blipper who might be able to tell us more!!)

Popping out for the this picture was as productive as I was today because I felt like poo, I thought that I would get 5mins of blue sky whilst it was out, I do have to ask is there another profession where you are allowed to be consistent wrong like a weather forecaster? All answers on a postcard or as a single word within your comments.

Hope you have had a great weekend, I can't say that I have (blue skies apart), but I currently have a nice bottle of cabernet sauvignon which is making feel a bit better.

Talk soon lovely blippers thanks for the lovely comments on Marlborough House, my Wren series is going to be over this time next Sunday, so at least you know what my next Sunday blip will be, but over the next week I shall be talking about stars, the RAF, sailors, impressive entrances, Dick Whittington, psychic cats and the second largest church in the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.