Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Spice mix

After my trip to Jerusalem  I have collected an abundance of spices.

As lamb is so favourably priced right now I decided to make the shawarma from Ottolenghi and Tamimi's Middle Eastern cook book.

I serve it with cous cous mixed with pomegranate seeds and a yoghurt/tahini/lemon juice sauce.

The spice blend includes: black peppercorns, cloves, cardamom pods, fenugreek seeds, fennel seeds, cumin seeds, star anise, cinnamon stick, grated nutmeg, ground ginger, sweet paprika, sumac, salt, grated fresh ginger, garlic cloves.

Now here's for the strange one.

Most of my beloved cook books  have their pages stuck together from years of over use. So in order to keep my book fresh I left it open in the living room. I would then walk too and from there and the kitchen memorising ingredients and quantities until the marinade was ready. 

Exercise with motivation.

I've attached the whole recipe as an extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.