Igor

By Igor

This be a verse

I though that I should read a book
which might improve my mind
a proper one to grace a shelf
- not the virtual kind

I chose a book on poetry
it came by post today
I liked the colour on the front
- the mustard on the grey

I only know a little bit
of Philip Larkin’s verse
- the one about your mum and dad
and how they make things worse

it made me laugh and then I thought
this is so very clever
to find out more of what he wrote 
would be my next endeavour

I’m not a fan of critics
and others who opine
but CJ always makes me laugh
- so that’s alright this time

And while the virus does its worst
and I must sit and wait
I’ll get beyond ‘This be the Verse’
as I self-isolate

You never know, it might catch on
I may well lose myself
beneath a pile of ‘proper’ books
but I’d need a bigger shelf

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.