Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Big Red Monster (Part 2)

Fair warning: most of this entry will be an entirely TMI post about my current period. 

I am feeling like total garbage today. Not long after I went to sleep last night, I awoke to the horribly familiar feeling of leakage, which lead to me frantically washing my PJ bottoms in the sink at midnight, and trying to check the bed with my phone torch without waking Rich. Bear in mind I had put on an overnight pad at around 9:45pm, and you have some idea of the dreadfulness of this flow. After leaving my sodden PJs in the tub and spending far longer than I'd like to admit panicking on the loo, I then spent a fitful night waking every 45mins or so worried about leaking again. I must've been to the bathroom about 8 times in the night, and each time my stomach cramps and backache were worse. At 4:30am I had to change pads again and spent some time having a cry on the loo, and when my alarm finally went off at 6:55am, I just felt dreadful. My back was so bad that even walking hurt. I don't know if this is just me, though, but it feels like I can't call in sick when working from home. (Not at all the fault of my colleagues, I should say). I've always felt a bit guilty calling in sick anyways*, but it seems even worse to try to do so when I'm surrounded by comforting things, can sit on my sofa, could stay in my PJs if I really wanted to... I did text my boss to say I might need to check out early but ended up working most of the day. I dosed myself up on ibuprofen, wedged myself into the corner of the sofa and ploughed through. 

*Back when I had some counselling, we did some exercise that I've forgotten the name of that helps you understand what motivates your behaviour. My 2 main drivers (which scored incredibly highly compared to the others) were 'being perfect' and 'putting others first', which goes some way to explain why I always feel so guilty and like I'm letting people down when I'm not at work. The human mind is a total wonder and complete disaster XD

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.