Cloudscape

My “landscape” is often a cloudscape, and today’s was spectacular. Curiously the sparkly lights along the river only show up in "large" view.

School time on the phone with Bella and Evan, then phone conversations with LaurieT, Aimee, and of course Sue. 

It’s interesting how my friends and comrades are responding, refusing to give up the right of protest during the Stay-at-Home Order. This afternoon I wrote a press release for a “Covid-safe” action planned for this coming Saturday at a local minimum-security prison. It will be a drive-by of cars with banners saying “Let Them Go.” It’s about the prisoners and immigration detainees, all at risk of Covid, all in close quarters where physical distancing is impossible. I'd love to go, but it doesn't start till 7:30 p.m., so it will end after dark, and I can't see well enough to drive after dark, so I probably won't.

The drive-by is one of several actions to bring pressure on elected officials to release prisoners, including immigrant children. Ultimately prison abolitionists want to see the whole prison system dismantled and restructured so that people who are a danger to themselves and others can be treated, not punished. Punishment never works.

The $1200 bribe from the current federal administration arrived in my bank account yesterday and now I have completely re-distributed it to people who have been harmed by his actions and to charities doing their best to thwart or counteract every act of that evil administration. I won't take his blood money, but I'm happy to redeem it in rebellious ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.