Happy Post

This morning I finally made a start on cleaning some cupboards. Shouldn’t be too difficult now I’ve made the first step.

This afternoon we both went exploring out the back of the property where the fires have opened up lots of new areas.
This happy looking post seemed a good omen.

My brother has sent me this excerpt from a story written by our Great Uncle Ralph. He was 17 years old and stationed on the HMAS Tingira which was a navy training ship moored permanently in Rose Bay.
I though it an interesting read as we find ourselves in a similar situation 100 years later.

”Immediately after the January 1920 new year when my (navy) leave had expired I return to my ship just as the great Influenza Epidemic had broken out. As the influenza became gradually worse, many thousands of people were struck down and many of them were to die.

Shortly after returning I developed a slight fever and was sent to the Quarantine Station at North Head as a suspect but fortunately I soon recovered and after two weeks I return to the ship only to find that all leave had been stopped and we were completely marooned on the ship.

It would not be very hard to realise how difficult it was to keep nearly 200 boys completely confined to the ship where apart from our studies there was no recreation of any description.

The commanding officer, Capt (later Admiral) Feakes, realising that something had to be done to entertain the boys confirmed with his officers and arrangements were made to do something to keep the boys occupied. Arrangements were then made to provide boxing and wrestling as well as gymnastics. Although these were well received, there was still very much dissatisfaction among the boys.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.