One of the things I miss most surprises me. I miss going to a café for a latte and maybe a wee bite. I often wondered how the price was decided and a fair percentage of time I thought I could probably make better coffee at home.

Now I realise I miss the people watching, and watching the world go by. I used to wonder how two people had met, making up an imaginary back story. I miss the interaction, the random snippets of conversations with strangers. (I’m Canadian. We speak to strangers). Cafés have been a great source of blips for me, both inside and out.

Now the world isn’t going by. We look at each other and wonder if the distance is at least two metres. I understand these things are necessary and needed, but that doesn’t stop me from missing cafés. And don’t get me started on how much I miss cinemas.

I recognise that these are not problems as such and I’m in a very fortunate position. I’m not complaining, but rather just trying to understand how I’m feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.