David_P

By David_P

Blackbird

The latest surprise from our young forest was this bird who was sitting on what was described to us as 'blue eggs'.  I am quite hopeless at identifying birds, but I think this is a female blackbird, but I would associate a female blackbird with a darker beak and nesting in bushes rather than on the ground.  I thought that a shot from a different angle might give further detail, but when I got there she was out, hopefully getting food for the young that had hatched. I hope to put up a nature camera to record their early life without disturbing them and this path will be out of bounds for dog walking for a few weeks; poor cocooned dogs.  If anyone has positive identification or suggestions as to whether a thrush or blackbird I would be delighted to know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.