Happy Birthday Queen Margrethe II of Denmark

This is an unusual blip for me as there is no dog in it! But today has been an unusual day.

Our Queen - Queen Margrethe II - is celebrating her 80th Birthday, but due to the current pandemic all celebrations have been cancelled. She has however been celebrated all day. 

At noon the Danish population stood up and sang an online Birthday song to her. It was broadcasted via TV, live streaming and radio. Some went to Fredensborg, where the Queen is staying during the Corona, but lots of people just went outside to sing with their neighbors. I was working, so I stayed indoors and followed the events via live streaming. 

My picture today is my computer screen - it is our beautiful and wise Queen. The extra is showing Danes all over the country celebrating the Birthday. The top picture to the right in the extra is the Queen following the celebration via TV in her livingroom. 

The Danish Defence has made a Birthday video for her - if you are on Facebook, you can see it here. 

After the celebration, I put Gollum and Biscuit in the car and drove to Lille Skensved to meet Helle. Gollum trained for the first time since his injury! Not heelwork training, but Nose Work. He was thrilled and worked so well. 

Helle also helped me with some more videos for my online heelwork course, so now there is no excuse not to finish the next lesson. 

A lovely afternoon. 

I came home to see the Queen speak to the nation and thank everyone for the beautiful birthday. Up until a month ago, she had only spoken to the nation on New Year's Eve, but one 17th March, she encouraged the Danes to stay home and support the lockdown. And today she spoke to us again, which was very special. 

On the 21st of March, I wrote in my blip: "This will surely be a birthday party I will never forget". Those were more or less the exact same words, the Queen used in her speech tonight. I think that the special days become even more special during a crisis

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.