Happy birthday x 2

Watching the amazing scenes of panic buying in the UK for toilet rolls & disinfectant, got into a conversation with Nogbad on Twitter & suggested I might know where there is a hidden supply of soap.

Complimentary hotel soaps & shampoos from around Europe & USA collected over many years, some dating back to the 1980s. The oldest one probably was from the Swan at Lavenham which must have been 88 or 89. I have a photo somewhere to back blip that event, a week-long luxury company training course from an organisation called Coverdale, all about "Problem Solving". Basic Management stuff but not something any of the current UK Government ever learnt.

Nogbad recognised many of the soaps in the photo as he also shared many months in the same Munich hotel.

A couple of years ago I had "ordered" that the huge carrier bag full of these soaps be put in the garbage but knew when my back was turned, they would be hauled out. One look in the attic and I found them again. Now I am praising myself for "my" forethought.

The toilet roll & disinfectant virus was to hit Bavaria and Germany too. Not as badly but still newsworthy. Apart from that no problems, at worse some of the brand names of pasta sold out but never completely empty. As for queuing in a supermarket! Angie was to experience being the only customer in one of Ottobeuren's national chain supermarkets. I simply can't believe it! Do the English really love queuing so much? Yes, I have to admit, as will any continental European, you are the most disciplined queuers in the world.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.