Autumn in the Wakatipu Basin ...

... Central Otago.
I’m loving being back amongst the mountains. I lived here for 20 years when my husband Brian was alive.
Plus actually being with people - what a joy. And with family, at that! One of them is a very precious great granddaughter.

Yesterday’s trip wasn’t a walk in the park. My daughter had been very concerned about me being in isolation, in my isolated house, knowing that there were issues nearby. So she planned, made phone calls, & sent emails to the National Crisis Management arm of Civil Defence. We did receive the Travel Permit, on compassionate grounds, but it was far from being an automatic process.

Today we had the news of the deaths of two more frail elderly people, due to Covid-19. It’s not the way our elderly folk should be taken, at the end of their lives.

There was good news today though, of only 8 new cases, plus 816 people healed of their dose of Covid-19.

There’ll be pressure on the Govt to let the country go back to Level 3, but I doubt it’ll happen before Jacinda & Team have all their ducks in a row.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.