FionaGo

By FionaGo

Scary beastie

This was the source of the very loud buzzing I heard as I worked at my desk. It flew right up to the window next to me, so I grabbed my camera for a quick picture. It's blurry as: (1) camera was on manual and I didn't have time to change the settings, (2) the bee was moving fast and (3) I was shaking!

We often get wasps in the attic where I work, as they seem to build nests in the eaves. I had no idea what this was, but it was much bigger than the usual wasps and so I was very relieved when I got the window open and it flew out.  

Turns out it is a tree bumblebee, quite harmless https://www.bumblebeeconservation.org/tree-bumblebee-bombus-hypnorum/

Now I'm hoping I might get a return visit and be more prepared so I can get a better photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.