BellesMa

By BellesMa

Birthday Walk

It was my sister's 45th birthday today.

She lives alone and hasn't seen a soul since 20th March.

So I arranged to meet her outside her house for a very socially distanced walk, which worked well actually. We stayed more than 2 metres apart at all times.
It was in an old city cemetery (she lives in central Edinburgh, its the nearest greenspace). Strange, I know. But it was full of birdsong and spring flowers.
I think she really appreciated it, as she's found it very hard being on her own and getting out of the house to somewhere quiet is tough too. It wasn't a decision I took lightly either. I thought about it for days, weeks even, before offering to meet with her. I also haven't seen anyone else, outwith my own wee household. Our whole extended family are taking the social distancing thing very seriously. We've missed Mothers Day, Easter, 2 niece's birthdays, this weekend it's my Gran's 101st ( but my Mum is her carer so will spend the day with her), after that it's my own daughter's 11th birthday in 9 days. April is a tough month for us to not be able to get together in my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.