Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

Winter Festival

Today was packed solid and as I type this, I feel just about ready to collapse!

It started with getting up to get dinner prepped, as I was making boeuf bourginon in the slow cooker. This was followed by an 8K (5 mile) Robbie Burns Race, in which I am pleased to report I did not place last. After a bowl of oatmeal at the finish line and a shower at home, I got the kids ready and we headed up the Niagara Escarpment to the Lowville Winter Festival. It turned out that they did not in fact have a skating rink, so C did not get to try his new skates - will fit that in next weekend I hope. But we did hit the hill for some sledding, play an "ice fishing" game put on by Trout Unlimited, and had a nice barbecue lunch cooked up by a local church. Two hours later we dashed (OK, it was uphill, so I had to sort of drag C) up the hill from the park to the car and drove to R's volleyball practice. And then we went swimming at the pool in the same recreational complex because I'd promised the kids last week that we would, and for some reason they still weren't too tired.

The boeuf bourgignon was pretty good after all of that activity.

And now I'm off to bed, crossing my fingers that the freezing rain (ugh) predicted for the morning does not seriously impede me as I need to be in court in the morning (back to the Inquest).

The photo is of C, riding R's sled down the hill. I was very proud of both of them for sharing their sleds with two little boys who didn't have sleds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.