Prisoner 24601

By Alfin

Viewfinder Saturday

A surreal experience this morning. For the first time since the unofficial/official lockdown, I ventured out to do a ‘big shop’.

We’ve been using our local corner store to top up our supplies, but after 4 weeks the time had come to get a more substantial haul. I had meant to go last week, but I frankly couldn’t be bothered with the apparent hassle.

Blimey.

The whole malarkey is exactly that, a malarkey, and it’s a real jolt to the system. Almost dystopian. No, in fact it is VERY dystopian.

I’m not sure we’ll ever get back to what we once described as normal.

Today would have been the day to settle our balance for our annual holiday. We have lost the deposit, although the holiday company say we can use it against another destination later in the year, but I don’t think that’s gonna happen.

In a bit of good news I received a refund for an online purchase I made in January plus a little extra for my inconvenience. Affinity Photo is now on sale in the app store, so I think I’ll use the extra to make a purchase. Pixelmator is great and I love the ease of how it seamlessly works with my Mac experience and I’d like to try Affinity as a friend who is a pro TOG recommends it to me over Photoshop. 

If nothing else, it’ll be another set of skills to learn and a further journey into the world of You Tube and Vimeo.

Today’s blip is a re-touched image (using a new colour grading that I love) of one I took last year of the brilliant and atmospheric mural of St Enoch and her baby St Mungo. It’s painted on a gable end at the corner of George St and High St in Glasgow. It’s been created by Smug, a well known street artist who has plenty examples of his work throughout the city. The image of St Enoch bookends his other famous work of St Mungo at the other end of the tenement block on High Street.

It has been a plan for a wee while to actually follow the Glasgow mural trail and grab images of everything that I can and properly catalogue them. It’s on the ‘to do after pandemic’ list. I have a sporadic collection and posted a few before on here, but time to get organised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.