For Sale...But not in the pet store

As I was walking through the market to buy some eggs, I passed the meat section. I usually try to walk through as quickly as possible (without slipping on the melted ice and other stuff on the ground.) You can find pig legs hanging from the top of the stalls and piles of different cuts of pork on ice. The chicken stalls were about the same, whole de-feathered chickens, chicken wings, legs, feet, innards, necks, whatever part you want could be bought here.

Then I passed this bucket.

Unfortunately, it wasn't the pet market. No, these guys were being sold as food, just like the pork and chicken.

One of my Thai friends brought home a few around dinner time a couple of years ago. He demonstrated how to skin and de-bone them. It seemed like a lot of work for not very much meat. He made it into frog curry. The curry taste overtook any noticeable frog taste, but the idea wasn't my favorite.

The word for "frog" and "toad" is the same in Thai, so it will be called "frog curry" no matter which variety is used.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.