wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Signal box

Day 26

Extended our usual daily walk slightly today, in order to go to the pharmacy in Wylam for a prescription.

This walk took us over the railway line and the river Tyne (see extra). The photo shows the elevated overline signal box which is grade 2 listed and apparently ' now almost unique, with the only other remaining example being further down the line at Hexham' (according to Wikipedia).
I didn't know until now that this station is one of the oldest working railway stations in the world, built in 1835. 

Must ask my mum but I'm sure she told me that my great-grandfather worked in a signal box.

Next to the station and river is the Boathouse pub, currently closed due to Covid-19, but a thriving, popular pub when it is open! It is very popular with real ale enthusiasts and boasts 15 handpulls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.