Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Flags?

I had a large teak salad bowl, desperately in need of refinishing, sitting in my shop for a long time -- maybe a couple of years. I was running out of vacant horizontal surfaces, so I decided to get it done. 

I tried cleaning the inside with isopropyl alcohol, and after removing a couple of layers of salad oil, decided that was good enough (extra 1). I sanded the outside down to bare wood (extra 2) and rubbed on two coats of tung oil (extra 3). I might give it one more coat.

Tung oil -- like several other natural oils -- hardens by reacting with the air. It's an exothermic reaction -- in other words, it creates heat. Many unintentional fires have been started in this way. I take all my wiping rags and paper towels outside and leave them on the patio for several days. Now you know what the blip is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.