briker

By backwoodsman

Bored ?........

.......Me ?
 Bored ?
I wish !
This is the Sun streaming in my window at 7 am , demanding that I get up , get out into the garden and get on with it :-(
As it has done now for the past 10 days :-O
For those of you in the balmy South ,perhaps I should explain that ,in Scotland, any day in which there is the remotest chance of some blue in the sky it must be seized upon pronto and feverish outside activity undertaken before the heavens open once again!
10 days of blue sky and sunshine ?  
Hey pal ;get a grip.........this is the west coast of Scotland doncherknow!!
But these are indeed strange times we are living in ;and so why not sun in Scotland ??
So whilst others less fortunate than me with my big garden have been dusting off the Monopoly in desperation .I have been "ootside" beavering away feverishly :-O
Building paths, doing battle with brambles ,having skirmishes with the deer that are determined to eat every plant as soon as I put it in the ground ,cutting trees and hedges ,mowing the bloody grass and building a garden seat (they have all gone on internet !! )
With not a moment to spare !
And to cap it all I have to water the garden....water the garden !!...In Scotland !!           Whatever next?
Which means that when I come in at dusk ,looking at Blip has to take a back seat after phone calls to other 107 year olds, just to make sure they are still here.         And, I have to confess , 1 1/2 hours watching "Twin" on BBC4 !    I knew these vikings are tough ,but surfing in the  Lofoten Islands ???
In consequence I missed Charlies 6 year Blip celebration :-O
Unforgivable !!
Will try harder and make time for the important things in life :-)

And spare a thought for those of you that are not so fortunate in these troubling times . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.