stujphoto

By stujphoto

Gull in Flight

Today was my first attempt at shooting birds in flight with my Fuji XT3. Unfortunately the sea was way out so the birds on the beach were fairly distant so I had to use my 200m equivalent lens with a doubler to capture shots. What was helpful was the fact that I could set a shutter speed and aperture for depth of field and leave the camera to select the appropriate ISO for the lighting conditions. In fact it was fairly bright so it was operating at 200 ISO for most of the time. I chose shutter speed of 1/1000 sec but perhaps might have got crisper images if I had shot a 1/2000 sec. Here's one of my better images and I must confess that my strike rate is not very high at the moment but I will have to persevere until I get more familiar with my equipment as the results are nowhere near as good as with my canon D7 with my 120-300mm f2.8 sigma lens. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.