My Life With Luna

By chrisA

Lords and Ladies (Arum maculatum) is growing at the base of my hedges and seems to be quite prolific this year.   I particularly liked how the sunlight was coming through the foliage and highlighting the plant.
I didn't realise that insects are attracted into the spadix by smell, these are then dusted with pollen from downward facing hairs before escaping and carrying the pollen to spadices of other plants.   In late summer to autumn the lower ring of female flowers will produce bright orange/red berries that are extremely poisonous.
According to Wikipedia there are 21 common names for this plant.  
Another busy day in the garden, cutting up a dead tree that I took down yesterday, pruning an oak on the river bank so that I can mow underneath without getting caught up and potting on some of the seedlings I have grown in the greenhouse.    Still loads to do but I'm running out of space!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.