One more day...

watching dramas in the pond.  I collected lots of tadpoles from an over stocked pool  to put in my pond as all my first lot of tadpoles had disappeared.  Today I saw why.  First the new tadpoles were chased around by the newts but then the dragonfly larvae started and were much more successful.  Each caught a tadpole by the tail and sucked it into their mouths(see extra). From the number of heads floating around they were obviously working hard, or maybe there are more of them in the pool than I thought.  In the sun many snails were enjoying an orgy and two were eating the corpse of a land snail.  I have two different newts - one is quite dark, very spotted and has a central ridge down the length of his back which has a  zigzag top.  The other one is almost yellow and has a flat ridge with lines defining it down both sides the length of the body.  I think the first is a smooth newt but I can't work out the second.  Is it an albino?  The tulip caught me eye as it is solitary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.