Small Places

By PicLocata

Relocated!

A largish hole opened up in our rockery next to the house. I tried blocking it and another appeared overnight, a few inches away. It looked too large for a vole; perhaps a rat, I feared. I set a small mammal trap, and was surprised to catch this small mouse.

I took it to a nearby park, by the Tay. It was the first time I have been out at night since the lockdown, and it was remarkably quiet, except for a sudden rustling in the bushes. Significantly, the first vehicle to go by was a silent ambulance with blue lights.

Mrs P and I are living a comfortable, if isolated, existence. I know that isn't true for everyone, and I find the silence of the unfolding disaster unsettling. I see that the government has just appointed someone (Lord Deighton) to oversee supplies of PPE. Anyone but this group of incompetents  ****'* words fail me might have thought of that before supplies ran out, rather than afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.