Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Groceries

The simple act of buying food and other provisions in these times of restricted movement, has become something of a logistical operation. A focus on minimising trips to the supermarket would be no bad thing in times of norm but it is needless to say especially pertinent now. From a continued health and wellbeing viewpoint, shopping must rank as the single highest risk activity I undertake and for that reason, it is one I'm less than keen to repeat. Some other shoppers take their time and act appropriately, many remain in too much of a rush to think clearly about what they're doing and a few just seem incapable of thinking clearly in the first place.

Outside the store, a long line of people waited patiently, suitably spaced in accordance with Government guidelines and entry controlled, no restricted is the right word, yes entry restricted to one every few seconds, after all there didn't seem to be any intent to limit the number of shoppers inside, a fact that would become apparent all too soon.

Once inside, the free-for-all kicked off, it was busy. I understand this is an anxious time for all, but really. One individual, female I think was clad in face mask (ill-fitting), hoodie and gloves who seemed to be of the opinion this attire exempted her from the social distancing rules, so she squeezed into the small gap next to me. I couldn't make out her response to my request to maintain her distance, but I sincerely hope that pack of Lincolnshire sausages was instrumental in averting a life or death situation.

In the afternoon, I took a bike ride for an hour or two of exercise induced wellbeing. See the extra shot of my destination at Arger Fen in Suffolk. Bliss.

24th day away from the office #covid19

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.