Sore

I kept to valley level this morning, as I was a bit sore from yesterday's run - and it'll be worse tomorrow! I should  be doing stretches and using the knobbly foam roller that L got me for Christmas, but I've only ever stretched before races for over 40 years and scarcely had an injury, so it's hard to convince myself of "the ways runners look after themselves". I did try the roller yesterday after coming back home, but I didn't feel that it was doing me any good, when all I wanted to do was lie down on the bed!

This picture is of the "Roman Bridge" in the Estate. Built in 1737, it has chambers in the four side-arches, one of which has a flue as if a Roman centurion might have stayed there! It is largely a folly, since it looks strong enough to take (at least) a horse and cart, but on one side is an unremittingly steep bank where you couldn't travel other than on foot or horseback - even the local mountain bikers struggle to do anything but walk up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.