Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

FAC251

A day-trip to Manchester, to give a lecture there. Two three-hour train rides for one hour of actual work. I need to stop doing this kind of thing.

Walking from Oxford Road back to Piccadilly Station, I passed the old head office of Factory Records. It's a nightclub and space-for-hire now.

Factory gave catalogue numbers not only to their records (e.g. New Order's Blue Monday was FAC73), but also to many other things including the cat at the Hacienda nightclub (FAC191), Tony Wilson's coffin (FAC501), and this building (FAC251).

I find it hard to believe that was all kicking off 30-35 years ago now. I can still remember hearing Atmosphere for the first time when John Peel played it on his show; I must have been 14 and I thought it was amazing.

Those years have flown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.