Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

‘What Do You Want From Me?’

So... as you see, I’ve fully embraced the lockdown head-shave! 

I have to say that it felt rather cathartic and freeing, and I’m not regretting it so far. 

If nothing else, it’s allowed me to have a go at my latest artistic homage. Today’s picture is my tribute to a photographic self-portrait by the French photographer, sculptor, writer and anti-Nazi activist Claude Cahun (1894-1954).

Born Lucy Renee Mathilde Schwob, Cahun’s work explores identity in a way that seems thoroughly contemporary. 

Back in the 1920s she was making work such as ‘Que me veux tu?’ (‘What do you want from me?’) https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/296276 which was my inspiration for this Blip.

Today’s song is ‘Cut Your Hair’ by Pavement www.youtube.com/watch?v=QTTgpTeb0Z8 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.