tiny blue

Blue is my favorite color. So for the TinyTuesday challenge of favorite color, here is the bottom of an heirloom necklace, resting on a dime so you can see how tiny it really is!
The necklace belonged to my maternal grandmother, who died when I was only 6 years old. But I clearly remember her and how fun she was to play with. On my sixteenth birthday, my mother presented me with this necklace in an envelope inscribed in my grandmother's handwriting "For Susan, on her 16th birthday." I remember the shock and tears to this day! Mom told me that my grandmother was given this piece of jewelry by her first serious suitor, but that her parents did not approve of him, so she ended up marrying my grandfather instead. Good thing, or I wouldn't be here today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.