Fanderson

I'm truly indulging in nostalgia, Gerry Anderson style, during this lockdown. A daily dose of Captain Scarlet (two episodes per day) finished recently. Now I'm on a daily dose of Joe 90 (one episode per day.) My wife has a theory that childhood trauma with Joe 90 is responsible for my only being able to watch one episode of Joe 90. I have told her the story of how, as a child, I used to hide behind the sofa during the opening credits of Joe 90. For some reason, the image of Joe in the B.I.G. R.A.T. used to terrify me.Why? I have no idea.

I must admit, Joe 90 does make for rather uncomfortable viewing as an adult. Three grown men casually sending a nine year old boy into life threatening situations where that same boy has, to date, killed at least a dozen people. Hmm. As concepts go, it is pretty dodgy. Still, as a boy it was total wish fulfillment. 

A couple of weeks ago Amazon delivered my Barry Gray CD. About three times the price of a regular CD but, well, you can't take it with you, can you, and these themes really are the apex of TV soundtracks.

No tears at all. I'm a big boy now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.