Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

White Knights on Golden Steeds

"Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds."
~Inscription on the James Farley Post Office in New York City; sometimes referred to as the letter carrier's creed

I've been wanting for a long time to capture a photo of one of these German Postal Delivery Bicycles, but have not had an opportunity. On a very snowy morning a week ago, as I idled at a traffic light in my toasty warm car, two of them pulled along side me gleaming beautifully as if freshly polished - and I was so astounded that the letter carriers, bundled in winter gear, were braving the slick roads and bitter cold to deliver mail by bike. I wished then I had been able to grab my camera and get a shot, alas that was not feasible.

But today as I walked to work, I came across this delivery bike perched on the sidewalk. The snow had changed to icy rain, still most unwelcoming and even dangerous.... Yet, the letter carriers continue to ensure efficient delivery of our post. Heroes, they are, these civil servants - white knights on golden steeds.

Years ago I made friends with the letter carrier in my neighborhood - Anita. She and her family were wonderful. They become hosts with the international exchange program I volunteer for, YFU, and welcomed several young people from around the world to their home. We've been out of touch for some time, but I always think of Anita when I see these cycles. I'm sure she'd get a kick out of them. She's strong and brave enough for the job, despite being petite and very pretty - I bet she'd even like the challenge of it.

I love to get mail (okay, not bills, but letters and packages and cards!) and so I'm very grateful to those who deliver it. To all the Anitas out there around the world: Thank You!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.